INEC Registers 21 New Political Parties

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has registered 21 new political parties, taking the number of registered parties in Nigeria to 67.

The decision was taken on Thursday during the weekly meeting of the electoral body held at the INEC Headquarters in Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory.

A statement signed by INEC National Commissioner, May Agbamuche-Mbu, said the parties were registered after they fulfilled the requirements provided by the constitution.

They are All Blending Party (ABP), All Grassroots Alliance (AGA), Alliance for New Nigeria (ANN), Abundant Nigeria Renewal Party (ANRP), Coalition for Change (C4C), Freedom and Justice Party (FJP), and Grassroots Development Party of Nigeria (GDPN).

Others are Justice Must Prevail Party (JMPP), Legacy Party of Nigeria (LPN), Mass Action Joint Alliance (MAJA), Modern Democratic Party (MDP), National Interest Party (NIP), National Rescue Mission (NRM), and New Progressive Movement (NPM).

Also registered are Nigeria Democratic Congress Party (NDCP), People Alliance for National Development and Liberty (PANDEL), People’s Trust (PT), Providence People’s Congress (PPC), Re-Build Nigeria Party (RBNP), Restoration Party of Nigeria (RP), and Sustainable National Party (SNP).

The statement said the meeting also took decisions on the findings on the allegation of double registration by Kogi State Governor, Mr Yahaya Bello, and the outstanding Anambra central Senatorial re-run election.

On the issue of double registration, it said: “The commission set up a panel of investigation into the involvement of staff in the matter. The initial report submitted by the panel was referred to the Appointment, Promotion and Disciplinary Committee, which made recommendations to the Commission.

“While the Governor of Kogi State currently enjoys immunity from prosecution, the commission took the following decisions in respect of its own staff: summary dismissal of two staff for acts of gross misconduct; immediate and compulsory retirement of an electoral officer for act of gross misconduct.”

On the Anambra re-run election, the statement added: “It will be recalled that following the judgment of the Court of Appeal, the commission announced that the outstanding election to fill the vacant seat for the Anambra Central Senatorial District would take place on January 13, 2018.

“However, the attention of the commission has been drawn to the judgement of the Federal High Abuja on the issue, delivered on December 13, 2017. The commission has applied for the Certified True Copy of the judgement to enable us to take a decision.”

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.
Share this article

Leave a comment